The History of the House
“Phe’s House” gets its name from the late owner, Philip Barron (1911-2001). When the current owner, Helen Kealy-Dunne, was just a child, she couldn’t pronounce her grand-uncle’s name. So, “Philip” became “Phe” and his descendants still refer to their beloved uncle and his house as “Phe’s.”
To locals in the area, the charming thatched cottage on the bridge with the iconic red half-door is known as “Phil Barron’s House.” Helen and her children even spent two months living in the two-roomed cottage back in 2010 — reenacting the simplistic yet challenging lifestyle of their ancestors.